Steuerpflicht und Vorauszahlung – was Sie wissen sollten

Dienstleistungssteuer

In vielen Fällen ziehen Unternehmer vor Erbringung einer Dienstleistung oder Lieferung von Waren Vorauszahlungen vom Käufer ein, um die für die Erbringung der Dienstleistung oder Warenlieferung anfallenden Kosten zu decken und sich gegen einen möglichen Rücktritt des Auftragnehmers vom Vertrag abzusichern . Ein solches Vorgehen ist verständlich, doch weckt die Abrechnung von Vorschüssen bei Unternehmern viele Zweifel. Dies liegt daran, dass bei Vorauszahlungen der Zeitpunkt des Entstehens der Steuerpflicht ein anderer ist. Daher ist das Datum der Offenlegung von Vorschüssen in den Aufzeichnungen unterschiedlich. Prüfen Sie, wann die Steuerpflicht entsteht, wenn Sie eine Vorauszahlung erhalten.

Vorausrechnung - was soll sie enthalten?

Die Elemente, die in einer Vorausrechnung enthalten sein sollten, sind in Art. 106f Umsatzsteuergesetz.

Die Vorausrechnung sollte enthalten:

  • das Datum seiner Ausgabe,

  • Vor- und Nachnamen oder Namen des Steuerpflichtigen und Käufers von Waren oder Dienstleistungen und deren Anschriften,

  • laufende Nummer, die innerhalb einer oder mehrerer Serien vergeben wird, die die Rechnung eindeutig identifiziert,

  • das Datum der Lieferung bzw. Fertigstellung der Warenlieferung oder Leistungserbringung oder das Datum des Zahlungseingangs, wenn ein solches Datum angegeben ist und vom Ausstellungsdatum der Rechnung abweicht,

  • Nummern, anhand derer Steuerpflichtiger und Käufer steuerlich identifiziert werden,

  • der erhaltene Zahlungsbetrag,

  • Steuerbetrag berechnet nach der Formel: Steuerbetrag = (Wert der erhaltenen Vorauszahlung x Steuersatz) / (100 + Steuersatz),

  • Transaktionsdaten, insbesondere: Name (Art) der Waren oder Dienstleistungen, Netto-Einheitspreis, Menge der bestellten Waren, Nettowert der bestellten Waren oder Dienstleistungen, Steuersätze, Steuerbeträge und Bruttowert der Bestellung oder des Vertrages.

Die Vorausrechnung sollte spätestens am 15. des Monats ausgestellt werden, der auf den Monat folgt, in dem die Zahlung ganz oder teilweise vom Käufer der Waren oder Dienstleistungen eingegangen ist. Darüber hinaus sollte die Rechnung spätestens 30 Tage vor Zahlungseingang ausgestellt werden, aufgrund der Unvorhersehbarkeit des Zahlungstermins war es jedoch üblich, Vorausrechnungen nach Zahlungseingang auszustellen.

Steuerpflicht bei Inlandsgeschäften

In der Regel nach Art. 19a Absatz. 8 Umsatzsteuergesetz entsteht die Steuerpflicht in der Umsatzsteuer mit Eingang einer Vorauszahlung, Vorauszahlung oder Anzahlung. Ausgenommen sind die in Art. 19a Absatz. 5 Nummer 4, z.B. Telekommunikationsdienste.

Vorauszahlung im Auslandsgeschäft

Export

Vorauszahlungen und Vorschüsse können auch für Auslandsgeschäfte verwendet werden. Gemäß Art. 41 Sek. 9a Umsatzsteuergesetz, wenn der Unternehmer die Zahlung ganz oder teilweise vor der Lieferung der Ware erhalten hat, kann der 0%-Satz angewendet werden, wenn die Ausfuhr innerhalb von 2 Monaten nach Eingang der Zahlung erfolgt und wenn innerhalb dieser Zeitraum hat er ein Dokument erhalten, das die Ausfuhr der Ware bestätigt. In einer solchen Situation entsteht die Steuerpflicht aufgrund des Eingangs der Vorauszahlung am Tag des Eingangs der Vorauszahlung.

Beispiel. 1.

Für den Export von Maschinen außerhalb der EU erhielt das Unternehmen am 20.08.2017 eine Vorauszahlung. Der Export erfolgte am 15. September, die IE-599-Nachricht ging am 16. September ein. Auf Seiten des Unternehmers stellte sich die Frage, ob in einer solchen Situation ein 0%-Satz angewendet werden kann und bis zu welchem ​​Datum die erhaltene Vorauszahlung ausgewiesen werden soll.

Auf die Transaktion kann ein Mehrwertsteuersatz von 0% angewendet werden. Außerdem sollte die Transaktion im August, also im Monat des Erhalts der Vorauszahlung, ausgewiesen werden.

Beispiel 2.

Für den Export von Maschinen außerhalb der EU erhielt das Unternehmen am 20.08.2017 eine Vorauszahlung. Der Export erfolgte am 15. September, die IE-599-Nachricht ging im November ein. Auf Seiten des Unternehmers stellte sich die Frage, ob in einer solchen Situation ein 0%-Satz angewendet werden kann und bis zu welchem ​​Datum die erhaltene Vorauszahlung ausgewiesen werden soll.

Die Versandpapiere sind mehr als 2 Monate nach Zahlungseingang eingegangen. In einer solchen Situation sollte im August (dem Monat des Erhalts der Vorauszahlung) der erhaltene Betrag mit dem nationalen Mehrwertsteuersatz ausgewiesen werden. Nach Erhalt des Transportdokuments im November ist es jedoch möglich, die im August ausgewiesene Zahlung zu korrigieren, um die Vorauszahlung im November mit einem Mehrwertsteuersatz von 0% anzuzeigen.

Starten Sie eine kostenlose 30-tägige Testphase ohne Bedingungen!

Innergemeinschaftliche Lieferung von Waren

Gemäß Art. 20 Absatz 1 des Umsatzsteuergesetzes entsteht bei der innergemeinschaftlichen Lieferung von Gegenständen die Steuerpflicht mit Ausstellung der Rechnung durch den Steuerpflichtigen, spätestens jedoch am 15. des Monats, der auf den Monat der Lieferung folgt, vorbehaltlich zum Absatz 4 und Kunst. 20a.

Wird die Rechnung nicht bis zum 15. Tag des Folgemonats ausgestellt, so entsteht die Steuerpflicht für die Transaktion am 15. Tag des Folgemonats.

Beispiel 3.

Herr Janusz verkauft Kunststoffverpackungen an ein Unternehmen aus Deutschland. Der Verkauf erfolgte am 30.08.2017. Auf Seiten des Unternehmers stellte sich die Frage, wann die Umsatzsteuerpflicht aufgrund einer innergemeinschaftlichen Lieferung von Gegenständen entsteht?

Unternehmer müssen bis zum 15. Tag des auf den Verkauf folgenden Monats, also am 15. September, eine Rechnung ausstellen. Die Steuerpflicht entsteht mit dem Rechnungsdatum. Wird die Rechnung nicht fristgerecht ausgestellt, entsteht die Steuerpflicht am 15. September. Der Erhalt einer Vorauszahlung im Rahmen des WDT ist steuerneutral. Eine solche Transaktion wird steuerlich nicht ausgewiesen.

Bei innergemeinschaftlichen Lieferungen, die kontinuierlich über einen Zeitraum von mehr als einem Monat erfolgen, gilt das Geschäft monatlich bis zum Ende der Warenlieferung als abgeschlossen. Im Rahmen dieser fortlaufenden innergemeinschaftlichen Lieferungen erhaltene Vorschüsse sind steuerneutral.

Wurde für diese Transaktion eine Rechnung ausgestellt, entsteht die Steuerpflicht zum Zeitpunkt der Rechnungsstellung.

Beispiel 4.

Aufgrund eines langfristigen Vertrages liefert Herr Wiesław jeden Monat Waren an ein deutsches Unternehmen. Auf Seiten des Unternehmers stellt sich die Frage, ob aus der erhaltenen Vorauszahlung eine Steuerpflicht entsteht und wann entsteht die Steuerpflicht?

Erhaltene Vorschüsse führen zu keiner Steuerpflicht des Verkäufers. Die Steuerpflicht entsteht in der Regel am Monatsletzten, es sei denn, die Rechnung wird früher ausgestellt, so entsteht die Steuerpflicht mit dem Rechnungsdatum.

Innergemeinschaftlicher Erwerb von Waren

Gemäß Art. 20 Absatz 5 Umsatzsteuergesetz entsteht die Steuerpflicht im Zusammenhang mit dem innergemeinschaftlichen Erwerb von Gegenständen mit der Ausstellung einer Umsatzsteuerrechnung (gilt für aktive Umsatzsteuerzahler), spätestens jedoch am 15. denen die Waren, die Gegenstand des innergemeinschaftlichen Erwerbs sind, geliefert wurden. Bei WNT ist die Vorauszahlung steuerneutral, d.h. es entsteht keine Steuerpflicht.

Beispiel 5.

Herr Emil kaufte Kleidung von einem Auftragnehmer in Deutschland. Für zukünftige Warenlieferungen ist eine Vorauszahlung von 50 % geleistet worden. Seitens Herrn Emil stellte sich die Frage, ob die Vorauszahlung auf die WNT-Transaktion eine Steuerpflicht erzeugt?

Die Zahlung eines Vorschusses bei einer WNT-Transaktion führt nicht zu einer Steuerpflicht.

Zusammenfassung

Vorschüsse im Zusammenhang mit Inlandsgeschäften führen bei Erhalt des Vorschusses zu einer Umsatzsteuerpflicht.

Bei WNT- und WDT-Geschäften sind die Vorauszahlungen neutral, d.h. sie begründen keine Steuerpflicht.

Bei einem Exportgeschäft entsteht die Steuerpflicht für den Erhalt der Vorauszahlung mit dem Tag des Eingangs, sofern die Waren innerhalb von 2 Monaten nach Eingang der Zahlung ausgeführt werden und ein Dokument zur Bestätigung der Warenausfuhr aus dem Land vorliegt innerhalb dieses Zeitraums.

Tax obligation and advance payment - what you should know

Service-Tax

In many cases, entrepreneurs, before providing a service or delivering goods, collect advance payments from the buyer to cover the costs incurred for the performance of the service or the delivery of goods and to protect themselves against possible withdrawal of the contractor from the contract. Such action is understandable, however, the settlement of advances raises many doubts among entrepreneurs. This is due to the fact that in the case of advance payments, the moment when the tax obligation arises is different. Therefore, the date of disclosure of advances in the records is different. Check when the tax obligation arises if you receive an advance payment.

Advance invoice - what should it contain?

The elements that should be included in an advance invoice are listed in Art. 106f of the VAT Act.

The advance invoice should contain:

  • the date of its issue,

  • names and surnames or names of the taxpayer and buyer of goods or services and their addresses,

  • sequential number assigned within one or more series that uniquely identifies the invoice,

  • the date of the delivery or completion of the delivery of goods or the performance of the service or the date of receipt of payment, if such a date is specified and differs from the invoice issue date,

  • numbers by which the taxpayer and buyer are identified for tax purposes,

  • the received payment amount,

  • tax amount calculated according to the formula: tax amount = (value of the advance payment received x tax rate) / (100 + tax rate),

  • transaction data, in particular: name (type) of goods or services, net unit price, quantity of ordered goods, net value of ordered goods or services, tax rates, tax amounts and gross value of the order or contract.

The advance invoice should be issued no later than on the 15th day of the month following the month in which all or part of the payment was received from the buyer of the goods or service. In addition, the invoice should be issued no later than 30 days before receiving the payment, however, due to the inability to predict the date of payment, it was common to issue advance invoices after receiving the payment.

Tax obligation in domestic transactions

As a rule, pursuant to Art. 19a paragraph. 8 of the VAT Act, the tax obligation in VAT arises upon receipt of an advance payment, prepayment or deposit. The exception are the services listed in Art. 19a paragraph. 5 point 4, e.g. telecommunications services.

Advance payment in foreign transactions

Export

Prepayments and advances can also be used for foreign transactions. Pursuant to Art. 41 sec. 9a of the VAT Act, if the entrepreneur has received all or part of the payment before the delivery of the goods, it is possible to apply the 0% rate if the export takes place within 2 months of receipt of the payment and if within this period he has received a document confirming the export of the goods. In such a situation, the moment when the tax obligation arises due to the receipt of the advance payment on the date of receipt of the advance payment.

Example. 1.

The company received an advance payment on August 20, 2017 for the export of machines outside the EU. The export took place on September 15, the IE-599 message was received on September 16. On the part of the entrepreneur, there was a question whether in such a situation it is possible to apply a 0% rate and by what date should the received advance payment be shown.

A 0% VAT rate can be applied to the transaction. Additionally, the transaction should be shown in August, i.e. in the month of receiving the advance payment.

Example 2.

The company received an advance payment on August 20, 2017 for the export of machines outside the EU. The export took place on September 15, the IE-599 message was received in November. On the part of the entrepreneur, there was a question whether in such a situation it is possible to apply a 0% rate and by what date should the received advance payment be shown.

The shipping documents have been received more than 2 months after receiving the payment. In such a situation, in August (the month of receiving the advance payment), the amount received should be shown with the national VAT rate. However, after receiving the transport document in November, it is possible to correct the payment shown in August to show the advance payment in November, using the 0% VAT rate.

Start a free 30-day trial period with no strings attached!

Intra-community delivery of goods

Pursuant to Art. 20 paragraph 1 of the VAT Act, in the intra-Community supply of goods, the tax obligation arises when the invoice is issued by the taxpayer, but not later than on the 15th day of the month following the month in which the delivery was made, subject to paragraph 4 and art. 20a.

If the invoice is not issued by the 15th day of the following month, then the tax obligation for the transaction arises on the 15th day of the following month.

Example 3.

Mr. Janusz sells plastic packaging to a company from Germany. The sale was made on August 30, 2017. On the part of the entrepreneur, the question arose when the VAT obligation arises on the basis of intra-Community supply of goods?

Entrepreneurs are required to issue an invoice by the 15th day of the month following the sale, ie on September 15th. The tax obligation arises on the date of issuing the invoice. If the invoice is not issued on time, then the tax obligation will arise on September 15th. Receiving an advance payment under the WDT is tax neutral. Such a transaction is not shown for tax purposes.

With regard to intra-Community supplies that are performed continuously for a period longer than one month, the transaction is deemed to have been completed each month until the end of delivery of the goods. Advances received under these continuous ICS transactions are tax neutral.

If an invoice has been issued for the said transaction, the tax obligation arises at the time of issuing the invoice.

Example 4.

On the basis of a long-term contract, Mr. Wiesław delivers goods to a German company every month. On the part of the entrepreneur, the question arises whether the received advance payment generates a tax obligation and when does the tax obligation arise?

The received advances do not create a tax obligation on the part of the seller. As a rule, the tax obligation arises on the last day of the month, unless the invoice is issued earlier, then the tax obligation arises on the date of invoice.

Intra-Community acquisition of goods

Pursuant to Art. 20 paragraph 5 of the VAT Act, the tax obligation in relation to intra-Community acquisition of goods arises at the moment of issuing a VAT invoice (applicable to active VAT payers), but not later than on the 15th day of the month following the month in which the goods being the subject of intra-Community acquisition were delivered. In the case of WNT, the advance payment is tax-neutral, i.e. it does not generate a tax obligation.

Example 5.

Mr. Emil bought clothes from a contractor in Germany. A 50% advance payment has been made for the future delivery of goods. On the part of Mr. Emil, a question arose whether the advance payment on the WNT transaction generates a tax obligation?

Payment of an advance in a WNT transaction does not result in a tax obligation.

Summary

Advances in relation to domestic transactions generate a tax liability under VAT upon receipt of the advance.

In WNT and WDT transactions, the advance payments are neutral, i.e. they do not give rise to a tax obligation.

In an export transaction, the tax obligation for receiving the advance payment arises on the date of its receipt, provided that the goods are exported within 2 months of receiving the payment and if a document confirming the export of goods from the country has been received within this period.