Das STIR-Gesetz – ein neuer Weg zur Verschärfung des Mehrwertsteuersystems

Dienstleistungssteuer

Das eingeführte STIR-Gesetz vom 24. November 2017 erlaubt es dem Leiter der Nationalen Finanzverwaltung ab dem 30. April 2018 unter bestimmten Bedingungen, die Bankkonten der Steuerpflichtigen zu sperren. In diesem Artikel erklären wir, warum das STIR-Gesetz geschaffen wurde, wann ein Bankkonto gesperrt wird und wie man dagegen Widerspruch einlegen kann. Weiter lesen!

Das STIR-Gesetz - der Zweck seiner Einführung

Am 28. Dezember 2017 wurde das Gesetz zur Änderung bestimmter Gesetze zur Bekämpfung der Nutzung des Finanzsektors für Steuerbetrug unterzeichnet, das das Teleinformationssystem der Clearingstelle (STIR) nach 4 Monaten ab dem Datum der Veröffentlichung des Gesetzes einführt (dh 30.04.2018).

Der Hauptzweck von STIR besteht darin, die Mehrwertsteuerlücke zu verringern und Mehrwertsteuerkarussells zu bekämpfen. Dies erfolgt durch Übermittlung von Informationen über Bankkonten, die für qualifizierte Einrichtungen eröffnet und geführt werden, und über alle Transaktionen, die als Gutschrift oder Abbuchung über diese Konten zwischen den Systemen der Banken und Kreditgenossenschaften und der Steuerverwaltung verstanden werden. Die von der Steuerverwaltung gesammelten Informationen sind auf das Risiko einer Nutzung der Aktivitäten von Banken und Kreditgenossenschaften für Zwecke im Zusammenhang mit Steuerbetrug zu analysieren. Diese Analyse erfolgt auf der Grundlage von Algorithmen, die von der Clearingstelle entwickelt wurden, unter Berücksichtigung der Best Practices des Bankensektors und der Kreditgenossenschaften im Bereich der Bekämpfung der Nutzung ihrer Aktivitäten für Straftaten und Steuerkriminalität. Berücksichtigt werden auch wirtschaftliche, geografische, fachliche, Verhaltens- und Verknüpfungskriterien.

Wichtig!

Die Definition einer qualifizierten Entität wird durch das STIR-Gesetz geregelt, in dem wir lesen können, dass eine qualifizierte Entität:

  1. eine natürliche Person, die Unternehmer im Sinne von Art. 4 Sek. 1 des Gesetzes vom 2. Juli 2004 über die Freiheit der wirtschaftlichen Tätigkeit,

  2. eine natürliche Person, die auf eigene Rechnung einer Erwerbstätigkeit nachgeht, die kein Unternehmer im Sinne des in Buchstabe a genannten Gesetzes ist. und,

  3. juristische Person,

  4. eine Organisationseinheit ohne Rechtspersönlichkeit, die das Gesetz als rechtsfähig anerkennt.

Im Ergebnis ermöglichen die durchgeführten Analysen dem Leiter der Nationalen Finanzverwaltung (KAS), geeignete Maßnahmen zu ergreifen, z. Durch die durchgeführten Analysen wird es auch möglich sein, Bankkonten zu identifizieren, die ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Begehung einer Steuerstraftat eröffnet wurden (sog. Pole). Das STIR-Gesetz wird zusammen mit SAF-T und Split Payment eines der wichtigsten Instrumente der National Revenue Administration im Mehrwertsteuer-Siegelsystem sein.

Sperrung von Bankkonten nach dem STIR-Gesetz

Wie im vorigen Absatz erwähnt, erhält der Leiter der Nationalen Finanzverwaltung als Ergebnis der Risikoanalyse die Information, dass eine qualifizierte Einrichtung die Aktivitäten von Banken oder Kreditgenossenschaften für Zwecke im Zusammenhang mit Steuerbetrug oder Aktivitäten verwenden kann, die auf Steuerbetrug kann er eine Sperrung des Kontos beantragen (um dem entgegenzuwirken). Die vorgenannte Blockade darf nicht länger als 72 Stunden stattfinden.

Der Leiter der KAS kann durch Beschluss die Sperrung des Kontos einer qualifizierten Stelle für einen bestimmten Zeitraum, jedoch nicht länger als 3 Monate verlängern, wenn begründete Befürchtungen bestehen, dass die qualifizierte Stelle die bestehende oder entstehende Steuerschuld oder Steuerschuld Dritter, die den Gegenwert von 10.000 EUR, umgerechnet in PLN zu dem von der Polnischen Nationalbank am letzten Werktag des Jahres, in dem die Entscheidung ergangen ist, bekannt gegebenen durchschnittlichen EUR-Wechselkurs übersteigt ausgegeben.

Im Falle einer Sperrung des Bankkontos kann der Steuerpflichtige einen Antrag auf Überprüfung stellen, der an den Leiter der KAS zu richten ist. Der Antrag wird spätestens innerhalb von 7 Tagen nach Eingang des Antrags berücksichtigt, seine Einreichung setzt jedoch die Vollstreckung der Entscheidung nicht aus. Sie kann auch die Einlegung einer Beschwerde beim Verwaltungsgericht durch den KAS-Leiter nutzen. Das Gericht ist verpflichtet, die Beschwerde innerhalb von maximal 30 Tagen ab dem Datum des Eingangs der Akten zusammen mit der Antwort auf die Beschwerde zu prüfen.

Wichtig!

In der Antwort des Finanzministeriums auf die parlamentarische Anfrage Nr. 18175 ist das zu lesen Kontosperren werden nicht massenhaft, sondern nur in wirklich begründeten Fällen nach einer umfassenden Risikoanalyse eingesetzt. Ein solches Rechtsinstrument ist in der polnischen Rechtsordnung bekannt, z.

Gesetz über STIR - Ausnahmen von der Sperrung von Geldern auf dem Konto

Das Gesetz sieht bestimmte Ausnahmen von der Verwaltung der auf einem Sperrkonto angesammelten Gelder vor. Nun, wenn eine qualifizierte Einrichtung einen Antrag an den Leiter der KAS stellt und dieser zustimmt, kann die Einrichtung Gelder vom Sperrkonto abheben an:

  • laufendes Arbeitsentgelt aufgrund eines Arbeitsvertrags, der mindestens 3 Monate vor dem Tag der Sperrung des Kontos der qualifizierten Einrichtung abgeschlossen wurde, zusammen mit einem Vorschuss auf Einkommensteuer und Sozialversicherungsbeiträge auf das gezahlte Arbeitsentgelt - nach Vorlage einer Kopie des die Gehaltsabrechnung und ein Dokument der Versicherungsanstalt Soziales, das den Antrag auf eine Sozialversicherung im Rahmen eines Arbeitsvertrags bestätigt;

  • zuerkannter Unterhalt oder eine als Ausgleich gewährte Unterhaltsrente - bei Vorlage eines Titels, aus dem die Verpflichtung der qualifizierten Einrichtung zur Zahlung von Unterhalt oder Rente hervorgeht.

Wichtig!

Bei Unterhaltsleistungen und Arbeitsentgelten ist die Freigabe der auf dem Konto angesammelten Mittel nur bis zur Höhe des Mindestarbeitsentgelts möglich (im Jahr 2018 beträgt das Mindestentgelt 2.100 PLN brutto).

  • Zahlung der Steuerschuld oder Zollabgabe vor dem Zahlungstermin vom Sperrkonto der qualifizierten Einrichtung - auf Verlangen der qualifizierten Einrichtung unter Angabe der Steuerschuld oder Zollabgabe, ihrer Höhe und des Leiters des für ihren Einzug zuständigen Finanzamts ;

  • Zahlung von Steuer- oder Zollrückständen und Verzugszinsen, bei:

    • Abgabe einer Anmeldung, Berichtigung der Anmeldung oder Zollanmeldung;

    • Erlass einer endgültigen Entscheidung zur Feststellung oder Festlegung der Höhe der Steuerschuld oder des Zolls, die das Bestehen von Steuer- oder Zollrückständen bestätigt;

    • die Entscheidung über die Feststellung oder Angabe der Höhe der Steuerschuld oder des Zolls sofort vollstreckbar zu machen und das Bestehen von Steuer- oder Zollrückständen zu bestätigen.

Darüber hinaus kann der KAS-Leiter auf Antrag einer qualifizierten Stelle in besonders begründeten Fällen Gelder von einem Sperrkonto freigeben.

Wichtig!

Die Ausnahmen umfassen nicht die Vergütung von Personen, mit denen ein zivilrechtlicher Vertrag geschlossen wurde. Wenn jedoch für eine bestimmte Person die Einnahmen aus den oben genannten Verträge die einzige Einnahmequelle sein wird, ist es grundsätzlich möglich, dass der Leiter der KAS nach Eingang eines Antrags auf Freigabe von Mitteln zur Zahlung zivilrechtlicher Vergütungen diesen in die Kategorie der Sonderfälle einbezieht.

The STIR Act - a new way to tighten the VAT system

Service-Tax

The introduced STIR Act of November 24, 2017 allows, from April 30, 2018, under certain conditions, the Head of the National Revenue Administration to block taxpayers' bank accounts. In this article, we explain why the STIR Act was created, when a bank account is blocked and how to appeal against it. Read on!

The Act on STIR - the purpose of its introduction

On December 28, 2017, the Act amending certain acts to counteract the use of the financial sector for fiscal fraud was signed, which introduces the Teleinformation System of the Clearing House (STIR) after 4 months from the date of publication of the act (i.e. April 30, 2018).

The main purpose of STIR is to reduce the VAT gap and to fight against VAT carousels. This is to be done by sending information about bank accounts opened and maintained for qualified entities and about any transactions understood as crediting or debiting carried out through these accounts between the systems of banks and credit unions and the tax administration. The information collected by the tax administration is to be analyzed for the risk of using the activities of banks and credit unions for purposes related to fiscal fraud. This analysis is performed on the basis of algorithms developed by the clearing house, taking into account the best practices of the banking sector and credit unions in the field of counteracting the use of their activities for crimes and fiscal crimes. Economic, geographic, subject, behavioral and linkage criteria are also taken into account.

Important!

The definition of a qualified entity is regulated by the STIR Act, in which we can read that a qualified entity is:

  1. a natural person who is an entrepreneur within the meaning of Art. 4 sec. 1 of the Act of July 2, 2004 on the freedom of economic activity,

  2. a natural person engaged in gainful activity on their own account, who is not an entrepreneur within the meaning of the Act referred to in point (a). and,

  3. legal person,

  4. an organizational unit without legal personality, which the law recognizes as having legal capacity.

As a result, the conducted analyzes will allow the Head of the National Revenue Administration (KAS) to take appropriate actions, e.g. blocking an account of a qualified entity, in which the system has detected a high risk of committing a fiscal offense. The conducted analyzes will also make it possible to identify bank accounts that were opened solely for the purpose of committing a fiscal offense (the so-called poles). The STIR Act will be one of the most important tools of the National Revenue Administration in the VAT sealing system, together with SAF-T and split payment.

Blockade of bank accounts under the STIR Act

As mentioned in the previous paragraph, if the Head of the National Revenue Administration obtains, as a result of the risk analysis, the information that a qualified entity may use the activities of banks or credit unions for purposes related to fiscal fraud or activities aimed at tax fraud, he will be able to request a blockade of the account. banking (to counteract this). The aforementioned blockade cannot take place for a period longer than 72 hours.

The head of the KAS may extend, by way of a decision, the period of blocking the account of a qualified entity for a specified period, but not longer than 3 months, if there is a justified fear that the qualified entity will not perform an existing or to arise tax liability or liability for tax liability of third parties, exceeding the equivalent of EUR 10,000 converted into PLN at the average EUR exchange rate announced by the National Bank of Poland on the last working day of the year preceding the year in which the decision was issued.

In a situation where the bank account is blocked, the taxpayer will be able to use an application for reconsideration, which must be submitted to the head of KAS. The application will be considered no later than within 7 days from the date of receipt of the application, however, its submission does not suspend the execution of the decision. He may also use the lodging of a complaint to the administrative court through the Head of KAS. The court will be obliged to consider the complaint within a maximum of 30 days from the date of receipt of the files together with the response to the complaint.

Important!

In the response of the Ministry of Finance to the parliamentary question no. 18175, we can read that Account locks will not be used on a massive scale, but only in genuinely justified cases, after a comprehensive risk analysis has been carried out. Such a legal instrument is known in the Polish legal system, e.g. in the Act of November 16, 2000 on counteracting money laundering and terrorist financing (Journal of Laws of 2017, item 1049), which is beyond doubt.

Act on STIR - exceptions to the blocking of funds on the account

The act provides for certain exceptions to the management of funds accumulated on a blocked account. Well, if a qualified entity submits an application to the Head of KAS, and he agrees, then the entity will be able to withdraw funds from the blocked account to:

  • current remuneration for work paid on the basis of an employment contract concluded at least 3 months before the date of blocking the qualified entity's account, together with an advance on personal income tax and social security contributions due on the remuneration paid - after submitting a copy of the payroll and a document from the Insurance Institution Social security confirming application to social insurance under an employment contract;

  • adjudged alimony or a maintenance pension awarded as compensation - upon submission of a title stating the obligation of the qualified entity to pay maintenance or a pension.

Important!

In the case of maintenance benefits and remuneration for work, the release of funds accumulated on the account will only be available up to the amount of the minimum remuneration for work (in 2018 the minimum remuneration is PLN 2,100 gross).

  • payment of the tax liability or customs duty before the payment date from the blocked account of the qualified entity - at the request of the qualified entity, indicating the tax liability or customs duty, its amount and the head of the tax office competent for its collection;

  • payment of tax or customs arrears and late payment interest, in the case of:

    • submission of a declaration, correction of declaration or customs declaration;

    • issuing a final decision establishing or specifying the amount of tax liability or customs duty, confirming the existence of tax or customs arrears;

    • making the decision establishing or specifying the amount of the tax liability or customs duty immediately enforceable, confirming the existence of tax or customs arrears.

Additionally, the Head of KAS, at the request of a qualified entity, may release funds from a blocked account in particularly justified cases.

Important!

The exceptions do not include remuneration of persons with whom a civil law contract has been concluded. However, if for a given person the revenues from the above-mentioned contracts will be the only source of income, it is in principle possible that the Head of KAS, after receiving an application for release of funds for payment of remuneration under civil law contracts, will consider it under the category of special cases.